Score unopposed weak pawns only if majors
authorSt├ęphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sat, 16 Sep 2017 12:07:41 +0000 (14:07 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 17 Sep 2017 07:52:27 +0000 (09:52 +0200)
commit043a469f83b4c81f94ab991029b4cd49fb05452e
treea435f2f5a7cdb532e6526f9cb1e05fa8550086f8
parent21926ce2d82b225b06005022b5fd8b4f0c1945c1
Score unopposed weak pawns only if majors

Do not use the opposed flag for scoring backward and isolated pawns
in pawns.cpp, instead give a S(5,25) bonus for each opponent unopposed
weak pawns when we have a rook or a queen on the board.

STC run stopped after 113188 games:
LLR: 1.63 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 113188 W: 20804 L: 20251 D: 72133
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/59b58e4d0ebc5916ff64b12e

LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 66673 W: 8672 L: 8341 D: 49660
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/59b902580ebc5916ff64b231

This is Alain Savard's idea, just with a different bonus.
Original patch there:

green STC, http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/597dcd2b0ebc5916ff64a09b
yellow LTC, http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/597ea69e0ebc5916ff64a0e6

Bench: 6259498
src/evaluate.cpp
src/pawns.cpp
src/pawns.h
src/thread.cpp