Add Tord's polynomial material balance
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 20 Jul 2009 08:56:21 +0000 (09:56 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 22 Jul 2009 23:03:30 +0000 (00:03 +0100)
commit044ad593b3c9fa8ab70f9b2ebfc2c36ce398eb5f
tree79152abe060297e9ecf0617959fe86ca5a694e90
parent5600d91cff69383ffcd65d479ae64a1fa53329f6
Add Tord's polynomial material balance

Use a polynomial weighted evaluation to calculate
material value.

This is far more flexible and elegant then applying
a series of single euristic rules as before.

Also correct a design issue in which we returned two
values, one for middle game and one for endgame, while
instead, because game phase is a function of board
material itself, only one value should be calculated and
used both for mid and end game.

Verified it is equivalent to the tuning branch results with
parameter values sampled after 40.000 games.

After 999 games at 1+0

Mod vs Orig +277 =482 -240 51.85%  518.0/999  +13 ELO

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/evaluate.cpp
src/material.cpp
src/material.h