Anchored bishops
authorStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Tue, 17 Mar 2020 07:26:27 +0000 (08:26 +0100)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Tue, 17 Mar 2020 18:20:37 +0000 (19:20 +0100)
commit07caca2587d3090921b99f37fa8c9bf6a29a89af
tree75e4510e51d22726f772c4ab41cce231cb2f0184
parentddcbacd04d1c860e808202ce8c1206c8acdca627
Anchored bishops

Reduce the "bad bishop" penalty when the bishop is protected by
one of our pawns, as it may indicate that the bishop has found
a safe spot outside the pawn chain.

STC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.50,1.50}
Total: 176942 W: 34142 L: 33696 D: 109104
Ptnml(0-2): 3129, 20422, 40919, 20876, 3125
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5e6f61aae42a5c3b3ca2e62d

LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.75}
Total: 42252 W: 5615 L: 5322 D: 31315
Ptnml(0-2): 308, 3881, 12500, 4084, 353
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5e701382e42a5c3b3ca2e661

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2587

Bench: 4963440
src/evaluate.cpp