On main thread: reduce depth after fail high
authorGuenther Demetz <guenther.demetz@wuerth-phoenix.com>
Fri, 19 Oct 2018 08:33:01 +0000 (10:33 +0200)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Thu, 25 Oct 2018 21:08:06 +0000 (23:08 +0200)
commit081af9080542a0d076a5482da37103a96ee15f64
tree5e62084ce0f262fe54ba44a8aa716176f1721a24
parentbc3b148d5712ef9ea00e74d3ff5aea10a4d3cabe
On main thread: reduce depth after fail high

This helps resolving consecutive FH's during aspiration more efficiently

STC:
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5bc857920ebc592439f85765
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 4992 W: 1134 L: 980 D: 2878 Elo +10.72

LTC:
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5bc868050ebc592439f857ef
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 8123 W: 1363 L: 1210 D: 5550 Elo +6.54

No-Regression test with 8 threads, tc=15+0.15:
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5bc874ca0ebc592439f85938
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 24740 W: 3977 L: 3863 D: 16900 Elo +1.60

This was a cooperation between me and Michael Stembera:
-me recognizing SF having problems with resolving FH's efficiently at
high depths, thus starting some tests based on consecutive FH's.
-mstembera picking up the idea with first success at STC & LTC (so full
credits to him!)
-me suggesting how to resolve the issues pinpointed by S.G on PR #1768
and finally restricting the logic to the main thread so that it don't
regresses at multi-thread.

bench: 3314347
src/search.cpp