Use fraction of history heuristics in futility pruning
authorMichael Chaly <Vizvezdenec@gmail.com>
Thu, 25 Nov 2021 17:55:52 +0000 (20:55 +0300)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Thu, 25 Nov 2021 18:38:03 +0000 (19:38 +0100)
commit0ac8aca893dd2052f8433e0b4a3d65073266b00f
tree1eb5f30dfd13dd1c1fc4115d96e8c736b5876431
parent092b27a6d0174f619fff9a53099ac9fdc5c2cb4e
Use fraction of history heuristics in futility pruning

This idea is somewhat of a respin of smth we had in futility pruning and that was simplified away - dependence of it not only on static evaluation of position but also on move history heuristics.
Instead of aborting it when they are high there we use fraction of their sum to adjust static eval pruning criteria.

passed STC
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/619bd438c0a4ea18ba95a27d
LLR: 2.93 (-2.94,2.94) <0.00,2.50>
Total: 113704 W: 29284 L: 28870 D: 55550
Ptnml(0-2): 357, 12884, 30044, 13122, 445

passed LTC
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/619cb8f0c0a4ea18ba95a334
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) <0.50,3.00>
Total: 147136 W: 37307 L: 36770 D: 73059
Ptnml(0-2): 107, 15279, 42265, 15804, 113

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3805

bench 6777918
src/search.cpp