Further simplify first_entry()
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 9 Feb 2013 15:22:47 +0000 (16:22 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 9 Feb 2013 15:37:20 +0000 (16:37 +0100)
commit0be7b8c54207a5a435ed38f0b8e42ad9a8cc9935
treef640fa2a215c002fa2b3b0617072bd47711e2b9a
parentc698362680d7d66801be100e20346bbbf4ec5c4f
Further simplify first_entry()

We can encode the ClusterSize directly in the
hashMask, this allows to skip the left shift.

There is no real change, but bench number is now
different because instead of using the lowest order
bits of the key to index the start of the cluster,
now we don't use the last two lsb bits that are
always set to zero (cluster size is 4). So for
instance, if 10 bits are used to index the cluster,
instead of bits [9..0] now we use bits [11..2].
This changes the positions that end up in the same
cluster affecting TT hits and so bench is different.

Also some renaming while there.

bench: 5383795
src/tt.cpp
src/tt.h