Raise penalty blocked enemy pawn on 6th rank
authorStefan Geschwentner <Stefan.Geschwentner@web.de>
Sat, 5 Apr 2014 10:27:57 +0000 (12:27 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 21 Apr 2014 05:47:50 +0000 (07:47 +0200)
commit0e8ad40ef0303c5c3bc13ff0ddcaa488f91b73fc
tree6eadb1a7633475027bda334b889b6b35d87c56a1
parenteced15fe36a16c38659f586bc558b1175114cc76
Raise penalty blocked enemy pawn on 6th rank

Idea from Lyudmil Tsvetkov.

The value seems to be raised a bit abruptly, but as
Gary said, a blocked pawn on the sixth rank has been
instrumental in limiting king mobility in multiple
losses that I've seen from SF. A blocked pawn on fifth
rank is much less serious on the king safety impact.

Passed both STC
LLR: 2.97 (-2.94,2.94) [-1.50,4.50]
Total: 14551 W: 2750 L: 2607 D: 9194

and LTC
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,6.00]
Total: 43595 W: 6917 L: 6618 D: 30060

And even a retest at 60" fixed games 40K
ELO: 1.79 +-1.9 (95%) LOS: 97.0%
Total: 39889 W: 6018 L: 5813 D: 28058

bench: 7154916
src/pawns.cpp