Two steps slider threats on queen
authorAlain SAVARD <support@multicim.com>
Fri, 9 Mar 2018 01:04:33 +0000 (20:04 -0500)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Fri, 9 Mar 2018 20:47:44 +0000 (21:47 +0100)
commit1093047e7d72ed0c82e143c2cc0af9ef7b0380ed
tree7fc020f79bd07c25b0b72e9e802e0fc911eee01d
parent82697f1193cc8c99c99c282361a3ada25c758243
Two steps slider threats on queen

Allow a potential slider threat from a square currently occupied
by a harmless attacker, just as the recent "knight on queen" patch.
Also from not completely safe squares, use the mobilityArea instead
of excluding all pawns for both SlidersOnQueen and KnightOnQueen

We now compute the potential sliders threat on queen only if opponent
has one queen.

Run as SPRT [0,4] since it is some kind of simplification but maybe
not clearly one.

STC:
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5aa1ddf10ebc590297cb63d8
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 22997 W: 4817 L: 4570 D: 13610

LTC:
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5aa1fe6b0ebc590297cb63e5
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 11926 W: 1891 L: 1705 D: 8330

After this patch is committed, we may try to:

• re-introduce some "threat by queen" bonus to make Stockfish's queen
  more aggressive (attacking aspect)

• introduce a concept of "queen overload" to force the opponent queen
  into passivity and protecting duties (defensive aspect)

• more generally, re-tune the queen mobility array since patches in the
  last three months have affected a lot the location/activity of queens.

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1473

bench: 5788691
src/evaluate.cpp
src/types.h