Remove uithread
authorxoto10 <buylow001@gmail.com>
Thu, 19 Sep 2019 16:10:46 +0000 (17:10 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sat, 19 Oct 2019 22:27:17 +0000 (00:27 +0200)
commit12d58adc68b1aa084d383d06bc47abbb3495ce3e
tree22f9d1591db5e898d49853bf63c845985d30abe2
parent472de897cb7efb66cb3518f3f4924716bd8abaee
Remove uithread

With the current questions and issues around threading, I had a look at
https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/issues/2299.

It seems there was a problem with data races when requesting eval via UCI while
a search was already running. To fix this an extra thread uithread was created,
presumably to avoid an overlap with Threads.main() that was causing problems.
Making this eval request seems to be outside the scope of UCI, and @vondele also
reports that the data race is not even fixed reliably by this change. I suggest
we simplify the threading here by removing this uithread and adding a comment
signaling that user should not request eval when a search is already running.

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2310

No functional change.
src/uci.cpp