Tweak dynamic contempt (the birthday patch)
authorStefan Geschwentner <stgeschwentner@gmail.com>
Tue, 29 Oct 2019 09:35:56 +0000 (10:35 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Thu, 31 Oct 2019 16:05:29 +0000 (17:05 +0100)
commit1725ed39adcc4aa6d96117a7b83e1552b37a6baa
tree22b46315bdf00c02b2e58661b2ceacaec73da351
parent648c7ec25db2040c0af34dd846dfa3f57af5ad0a
Tweak dynamic contempt (the birthday patch)

Make dynamic contempt weight factor dependent on static contempt so that higher
static contempt implies less dynamic contempt and vice versa. For default contempt
24 this is a non-functional change. But tests with contempt 0 shows an elo gain.
Also today is my birthday so i have already give to myself a gift with this patch :-)!

Further proceedings:

in the past we checked for default contempt that it doesn't regress against
contempt 0. Now that the later is stronger and the former is the same strength
this should be rechecked. Perhaps the default contempt have to be lowered.
It would be interesting to get some idea of the impact of this patch outside
of the 0-24 contempt range.

STC: (both with contempt=0)
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-1.50,4.50]
Total: 21912 W: 3898 L: 3740 D: 14274
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5db74b6f0ebc5902d1f37405

LTC: (both with contempt=0)
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,3.50]
Total: 27172 W: 3350 L: 3126 D: 20696
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5db760020ebc5902d1f375d0

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2382

No functional change (for current default contempt 24).
src/search.cpp