LMR simplification
authorStefan Geschwentner <Stefan-Geschwentner@web.de>
Wed, 8 Aug 2018 07:45:58 +0000 (09:45 +0200)
committerSt├ęphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Thu, 9 Aug 2018 12:45:35 +0000 (14:45 +0200)
commit198418ee67895817f2fad63f4935540e17cd7117
tree12474a7197b78f810b8945c06229aa959291ada0
parentbd4d2b0576ec320367769d5720c7a5b4d094ceef
LMR simplification

Unify the "quiet" and "non-quiet" reduction rules for use at any kind of moves.
The idea behind it was that both rules reduce at similiar cases in master:
one directly for late previous moves and the other indirectly by using a
bad stat score which is used for most move sorting and so approximates the
late move condition.

For captures/promotions the old rule was triggered in 25% but the new
rule only for 3% of all cases (so now more reductions are done, whereas
for quiet moves reductions keep the same level).

STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 162327 W: 35976 L: 36134 D: 90217
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b6a9a430ebc5902bdb9d5c1

LTC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 29570 W: 5083 L: 4976 D: 19511
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b6bc5d00ebc5902bdb9e9d6

Bench: 4526980
src/search.cpp