Introduce bad outpost penalty
authorSFisGOD <jonathandumale@gmail.com>
Wed, 8 Jul 2020 02:09:32 +0000 (10:09 +0800)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sat, 11 Jul 2020 09:23:55 +0000 (11:23 +0200)
commit1f3bd968bb194a1f42af661cca9ec445c13978e8
tree3b61c21abca088053b77259102d3821bbcdb2a97
parent5e91c5dcc8066e9f346a10010ddce70f2d317ef6
Introduce bad outpost penalty

In some French games, Stockfish likes to bring the Knight to a bad outpost spot. This is evident in TCEC S18 Superfinal Game 63, where there is a Knight outpost on the queenside but is actually useless. Stockfish is effectively playing a piece down while holding ground against Leela's break on the kingside.

This patch turns the +56 mg bonus for a Knight outpost into a -7 mg penalty if it satisfies the following conditions:

* The outpost square is not on the CenterFiles (i.e. not on files C,D,E and F)
* The knight is not attacking non pawn enemies.
* The side where the outpost is located contains only few enemies, with a particular conditional_more_than_two() implementation

Thank you to apospa...@gmail.com for bringing this to our attention and for providing insights.
See https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgroups=#!topic/fishcooking/dEXNzSIBgZU
Reference game: https://tcec-chess.com/#div=sf&game=63&season=18

Passed STC:
LLR: 2.93 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.50,1.50}
Total: 6960 W: 1454 L: 1247 D: 4259
Ptnml(0-2): 115, 739, 1610, 856, 160
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f08221059f6f0353289477e

Passed LTC:
LLR: 2.98 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.75}
Total: 21440 W: 2767 L: 2543 D: 16130
Ptnml(0-2): 122, 1904, 6462, 2092, 140
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f0838ed59f6f035328947a2

various related tests show strong test results, but so far no generalizations or simplifications of conditional_more_than_two() are found. See PR for details.

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2803

Bench: 4366686
src/bitboard.h
src/evaluate.cpp