Simplification: remove pawn shelter/storm masks
authorprotonspring <mike@whiteley.org>
Tue, 27 Mar 2018 15:29:56 +0000 (17:29 +0200)
committerSt├ęphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Tue, 27 Mar 2018 15:30:52 +0000 (17:30 +0200)
commit29070bd01a5a8e37658866ead1fbdeacc60ce9a6
tree984b97cc9ba9a99166fde4e5debfe6b8a8119fc9
parent367304e930e967d90523025b34f25c2a9b60de8f
Simplification: remove pawn shelter/storm masks

Encode the pawn shelter/storm masks into the danger score

This highly specialized rule directly contradicts the VERY high
danger score for blocked pawns. Reducing the danger score for
blocked pawns and removing this rule is apparently an effective
compromise.

STC
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 36597 W: 7522 L: 7429 D: 21646
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ab935f30ebc5902932cc016

LTC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 100690 W: 15373 L: 15372 D: 69945
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ab9501f0ebc5902932cc042

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1514

Bench: 5980822
src/pawns.cpp