Extend irreversible moves
authorJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Fri, 10 Apr 2020 19:53:00 +0000 (21:53 +0200)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sun, 12 Apr 2020 18:38:47 +0000 (20:38 +0200)
commit2c5f0efa1350ea19d32c599ddd6b9350f1d216ff
tree7f00941fb555af8520ee5e60161598e2496cc126
parent6596f0eac0c1d25a12bfd923907bfc78beedbc90
Extend irreversible moves

if these are ttMoves and played in positions with a high value of the rule50 counter. The unusual extension of 2 is safe in this context as awarding it will reset the rule50 counter, making sure it is awarded very rarely in a search path.

This patch partially addresses https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/issues/2620 as it should make it less likely to play a move that resets the counter, but that is worse than alternative moves after a slightly deeper search.

passed STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.50,1.50}
Total: 71658 W: 13840 L: 13560 D: 44258
Ptnml(0-2): 1058, 7921, 17643, 8097, 1110
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5e90d0f6754c3424c4cf9f41

passed LTC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.75}
Total: 85082 W: 11069 L: 10680 D: 63333
Ptnml(0-2): 459, 6982, 27259, 7393, 448
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5e917470af0a0143109dc341

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2623

Bench: 4432822
src/search.cpp