Use gain table to order non-captures
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Thu, 4 Feb 2010 18:24:41 +0000 (19:24 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 7 Feb 2010 07:55:51 +0000 (08:55 +0100)
commit2e70a2873f42e327546248172baa77a76ae0b0fc
tree1a9f076486cccf7f2483d6f91740ea0e40fedf91
parent9429d2d028f91863c63b0072b64cc9da99823017
Use gain table to order non-captures

Gain value is multiplied by 16 to be of comparable magnitudo
of negative history, on average.

This patch shows very good results in tactical tests, but
started very bad in real games, so I have run two test matches.

After 896 games at 1+0
Mod vs Orig +187 =525 -184 +1 ELO

After 999 games at 1+0
Mod vs Orig +223 =590 -186 +13 ELO

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/movepick.cpp