Tweak KingFlank when king is on edge files
authorMiguel Lahoz <miguel_lahoz@protonmail.com>
Wed, 25 Jul 2018 16:11:51 +0000 (00:11 +0800)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Fri, 27 Jul 2018 08:38:20 +0000 (10:38 +0200)
commit313f4037339142f0c3488f511c57ca7a400ea8a5
tree314c705b26a6f8fdbfe61646a611a354cf824978
parentc9f80660a6c529f6909c1beed4e9d5798979711b
Tweak KingFlank when king is on edge files

This tweak excludes files D and E from the KingFlank bitboard when our
king is on the A or H files respectively. As far as I can tell, this
affects two things: the calculation for CloseEnemies and PawnlessFlank.
Aside from filtering out slightly less relevant attacks in the flank,
I suspect this helps with king prophylaxis, avoiding attacks and moving
towards the center when the pawns start to come off.

STC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 56755 W: 12881 L: 12489 D: 31385
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b58a94c0ebc5902bdb88c72

LTC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 130205 W: 22536 L: 21957 D: 85712
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b58b7580ebc5902bdb89029

How to continue: Tweaking the two bonuses mentioned might give some
gain, although as far as I can tell, CloseEnemies is very sensitive to
even small changes.

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1705

Bench: 5026009
src/evaluate.cpp