Remove unneeded branch
authorJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sun, 24 Jun 2018 16:14:48 +0000 (18:14 +0200)
committerSt├ęphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Thu, 27 Sep 2018 18:48:11 +0000 (20:48 +0200)
commit33b2f6398c419e0c906d58314ada408b460e635c
treef9d08ac4e7a38bff0b2c8a692126a85dd488419d
parent0fa957cf66069c4499d9fe793cf07a11c4ccb87c
Remove unneeded branch

Storing unconditionally the current generation and bound is equivalent to master.
Part of the condition was added as a speed optimization in #429.
Here the branch is fully eliminated.

passed STC single-threaded:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 73515 W: 16378 L: 16359 D: 40778
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b2fc38c0ebc5902b2e57fd5

passed STC multi-threaded:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 63725 W: 12916 L: 12874 D: 37935
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b307b8f0ebc5902b2e5895f

The multithreaded test was run after a plausible suggestion by @mstembera that the effect of this could be larger with many cores. The result seems to indicate this doesn't really matter on the 8core architecture abundantly available on fishtest.

No functional change
src/tt.cpp