Revert evaluation cache
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Thu, 27 Dec 2012 11:13:31 +0000 (12:13 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Thu, 27 Dec 2012 12:57:17 +0000 (13:57 +0100)
commit3cf6471738dc704ddf553d5f8d2dc9875c2ccbe7
tree563c83572f1605afd3a44d9013b019a7651ea168
parentf78b68b7ffd05888bd663acdf400276913126cd5
Revert evaluation cache

And return on using TT as backing store for position
evaluations.

Tests (even on single thread) show eval cache was a regression.
In multi thread result should be even worst because eval cache
is a per-thread struct, while TT is shared.

After 4957 games at 15"+0.05 (single thread)
eval cache vs master 969 - 1093 - 2895  -9 ELO

So previous reported result of +18 ELO was probably due to an
issue in the testing framework (a bug in cutechess-cli) that
has been fixed in the meanwhile.

bench: 5386711
src/evaluate.cpp
src/evaluate.h
src/search.cpp
src/thread.h
src/tt.cpp
src/tt.h