Add "Skill level functionality
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 27 Mar 2011 10:23:29 +0000 (11:23 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 27 Mar 2011 10:50:22 +0000 (11:50 +0100)
commit41fe70d7031993d1802659d01dd0710477bffcab
treeb1c5b83f47218b89fc062e369903c413ca4a7c7f
parentd372f2e39a65e2b14fc0335841e652a9d208d3ec
Add "Skill level functionality

It is now possible to adjust skill level of Stockfish
from 10 (full strength) to 0.

Skill adjustment is done in such a way that is CPU speed and
time control largely independent, at least at low skills. It
means that given a skill we have same play level on a mobile
phone and on a super OCTAL CPU, at 1' per game or at 180'.

At skill 9 strength is that of an average engine, I have used
Crafty 20.14 to tune and we are more or less there. At skill 0
engine is pretty weak but still shows a realistic play.

When skill is not used we don't have any impact on the regular
code.

Idea to use MultiPV is from Heinz van Saanen, implementation and
formulas by me.

No functional change.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp
src/ucioption.cpp