No Queen in the MobilityArea
authorAlain SAVARD <support@multicim.com>
Mon, 23 Apr 2018 19:49:34 +0000 (15:49 -0400)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Tue, 24 Apr 2018 12:41:50 +0000 (14:41 +0200)
commit45072612d4ddc1483581eb7799d270778e71d5e3
tree7d04f1706fa2a89b4806b04026f9adf63e85cb13
parentc794c8c8016dfdc8360c9d5ab74dffa9d93d9277
No Queen in the MobilityArea

Queen was recently excluded from the mobility area of friendly minor
pieces. Exclude queen also from the mobility area of friendly majors too.

Run as a simplification:

STC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ade396f0ebc59602d053742
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 46972 W: 9511 L: 9437 D: 28024

LTC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ade64b50ebc5949f20a24d3
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 66855 W: 10157 L: 10105 D: 46593

How to continue from there?

The mobilityArea is used in various places of the evaluation as a
soft proxy for "not attacked by the opponent pawns". Now that the
mobility area is getting smaller and smaller, it may be worth to
hunt for Elo gains by trying the more direct ~attackedBy[Them][PAWN]
instead of mobilityArea[Us] in these places.

Bench: 4650572
src/evaluate.cpp