Using a S-curve for the optimism measure
authorStefano Cardanobile <stefano.cardanobile@gmail.com>
Sun, 4 Mar 2018 15:50:19 +0000 (16:50 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sun, 4 Mar 2018 15:55:58 +0000 (16:55 +0100)
commit450f04969c5699fb9a4b39b883c2f37d122de290
treeff8eb68ab0e6115dcf855502cfb228b4c5b66a42
parentcad300cfab869a4e8dcc6b286f9b2e60d2827bed
Using a S-curve for the optimism measure

Add a logarithmic term in the optimism computation, increase
the maximal optimism and lower the contempt offset.

This increases the dynamics of the optimism aspects, giving
a boost for balanced positions without skewing too much on
unbalanced positions (but this version will enter panic mode
faster than previous master when behind, trying to draw faster
when slightly behind). This helps, since optimism is in general
a good thing, for instance at LTC, but too high optimism
rapidly contaminates play.

passed STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 159343 W: 34489 L: 33588 D: 91266
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a8db9340ebc590297cc85b6

passed LTC:
LLR: 2.97 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 47491 W: 7825 L: 7517 D: 32149
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a9456a80ebc590297cc8a89

It must be mentioned that a version of the PR with contempt 0
did not pass STC [0,5]. The version in the patch, which uses
default contempt 12, was found to be as strong as current master
on different matches against SF7 and SF8, both at STC and LTC.

One drawback maybe is that it raises the draw rate in self-play
from 56% to 59%, giving a little bit less sensitivity for SF
developpers to find evaluation improvements by selfplay tests
in fishtest.

Possible further work:

• tune the values accurately, while keeping in mind the drawrate issue
• check whether it is possible to remove linear and offset term
• try to simplify the S-shape curve

Bench: 5934644
AUTHORS
src/search.cpp
src/ucioption.cpp