Combo
author31m059 <37052095+31m059@users.noreply.github.com>
Mon, 8 Oct 2018 18:43:45 +0000 (14:43 -0400)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sun, 14 Oct 2018 18:02:31 +0000 (20:02 +0200)
commit489357d7b221179a0fc116df706df5e937f991fa
tree1e96ef7183918d8b7b1b420ecf1f9b74ec8bbe4d
parent8141bdd179da8f36c04f99d51812b19bbd1a8efd
Combo

This PR is a combination of two unrelated [0, 4] patches that appeared promising
but not quite strong enough to pass on their own. The combination initially failed
STC with a positive score after a long run, and the subsequent speculative LTC test
passed.

* tweak_threatOnQueen4 :

Increase the middlegame components of ThreatByMinor[QUEEN]
and ThreatByRook[QUEEN] by 15 each. Bryan's (@crossbr) analysis of CCC Bonus Game 10
inspired several tests on penalizing a queen with limited safe mobility. While
attempting to implement this idea, I noticed that when I did not include the queen's
current square in the calculations, the Elo gains seemed to vanish--and only then did
I have the idea to revisit ThreatByMinor[QUEEN] and ThreatByRook[QUEEN], adding a
corresponding value to each. Without Bryan's work, this test would never have been
submitted. I would also like to recognize the efforts and contributions of @SFisGOD,
who also vigorously worked on this idea.

* Use pure static eval for null move pruning :

This idea was directly re-purposed from a promising test by Jerry Donald Watson
(@jerrydonaldwatson) in August. It was also independently developed and tested by
Stefan Geschwentner (@locutus2) previously.
Thank you all!

STC (failed yellow):
LLR: -2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 83913 W: 17986 L: 17825 D: 48102
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5bbc59300ebc592439f76aa5

LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 137198 W: 22351 L: 21772 D: 93075
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5bbce35f0ebc592439f77639

Bench: 4312846
src/evaluate.cpp
src/search.cpp