Remove goto, limit skipping to NMP
authorJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Tue, 8 May 2018 23:40:32 +0000 (01:40 +0200)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Tue, 8 May 2018 23:42:34 +0000 (01:42 +0200)
commit4d647428d8f6b02a404e6b7fda5dbbf17090f271
tree5f5b1a4efb127202f73128d4854bea7fe69bd819
parentde0889612f93d021e0754a201ce751fe05d8cb2c
Remove goto, limit skipping to NMP

This patch simplifies the control flow in search(), removing an if
and a goto. A side effect of the patch is that Stockfish is now a
little bit more selective at low depths, because we allow razoring,
futility pruning and probcut pruning after a null move.

passed STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 32035 W: 6523 L: 6422 D: 19090
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5af142ca0ebc597fb3d39bb6

passed LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 41431 W: 6187 L: 6097 D: 29147
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5af148770ebc597fb3d39bc1

Ideas for further work:

• Use the nodes credit opened by the patch (the increased selectivity)
  to try somewhat higher razoring, futility or probcut margins at [0..4].

Bench: 4855031
src/search.cpp