Let LMR at root be independent of MultiPV value
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 8 Aug 2009 16:04:01 +0000 (17:04 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 8 Aug 2009 16:30:46 +0000 (17:30 +0100)
commit54382f8b0765693c7aa5714c94d7d21dc41f1fc4
tree1ac79ac35362acb37738c5ef4b9acac00335cdd2
parent339bb8a524a0a6af093b383da9f61b31504be9fe
Let LMR at root be independent of MultiPV value

Current formula enable LMR when

i + MultiPV >= LMRPVMoves

It means that, for instance, if MultiPV == 1 then LMR
will be started to be considered at move i = LMRPVMoves - 1,
while if MultiPV == 3 then it will start before,
at move i = LMRPVMoves - 3.

With this patch the formula becomes

i >= MultiPV + LMRPVMoves - 2

So that LMR will always start after LMRPVMoves - 1 moves
from the last PV move.

No functional change when MultiPV == 1

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp