Capping stat bonus at 2000
authorStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Mon, 4 Oct 2021 18:37:26 +0000 (20:37 +0200)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Wed, 6 Oct 2021 10:04:35 +0000 (12:04 +0200)
commit54a989930ebed200c3278c725151e26a2c0da37a
treed6f9e444ba7bf5f2ad0e1fa58faa86219aa434b7
parent329bdbd9cfa270dd7141e5184180fbde1b5898b4
Capping stat bonus at 2000

This patch updates the stat_bonus() function (used in the history tables to
help move ordering), keeping the same quadratic for small depths but changing
the values for depth >= 9:

The old bonus formula was increasing from zero at depth 1 to 4100 at depth 14,
then used the strange, small value of 73 for all depths >= 15.

The new bonus formula increases from 0 at depth 1 to 2000 at depth 8, then
keeps 2000 for all depths >= 8.

passed STC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) <-0.50,2.50>
Total: 169624 W: 42875 L: 42454 D: 84295
Ptnml(0-2): 585, 19340, 44557, 19729, 601
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/615bd69e9d256038a969b97c

passed LTC:
LLR: 3.07 (-2.94,2.94) <0.50,3.50>
Total: 37336 W: 9456 L: 9191 D: 18689
Ptnml(0-2): 20, 3810, 10747, 4067, 24
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/615c75d99d256038a969b9b2

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3731

Bench: 6261865
src/search.cpp