Blocked pawn storm
authorStefan Geschwentner <locutus2@users.noreply.github.com>
Wed, 28 Feb 2018 12:00:45 +0000 (13:00 +0100)
committerSt├ęphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Wed, 28 Feb 2018 12:03:35 +0000 (13:03 +0100)
commit59d10374ca647feebf9323b21031e47012572fb6
treefb576e12eb089f688d4bf4532381b50ed7f53783
parentad5d86c7714ae3eaad71e8b3630d38c29dd2c3fe
Blocked pawn storm

In pawn structures like white pawns f6,h6 against black pawns f7,g6,h7
the attack on the king is blocked by the own pawns. So decrease the
penalty for king safety.

See diagram and discussion in
https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1434

A sample position that this patch wants to avoid is the following
1rr2bk1/3q1p1p/2n1bPpP/pp1pP3/2pP4/P1P1B3/1PBQN1P1/1K3R1R w - - 0 1

White pawn storm on the king side was a disaster, it locked the king
side completely. Therefore, all the king tropism bonus that white have
on the king side are useless, and kingadjacent attacks too. Master
gives White a static +4.5 advantage, but White cannot win that game.
The patch is lowering this evaluation artefact.

STC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 16467 W: 3750 L: 3537 D: 9180
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a92102d0ebc590297cc87d0

LTC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 64242 W: 11130 L: 10745 D: 42367
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a923dc80ebc590297cc8806

This version includes reformatting and speed optimization by Alain Savard.

Bench: 5643527
src/pawns.cpp