Simplification: do razoring only for depth 1
authorDU-jdto <SNP_Tiranasta@hotmail.com>
Sat, 24 Feb 2018 12:06:18 +0000 (13:06 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sat, 24 Feb 2018 12:12:04 +0000 (13:12 +0100)
commit5d57bb467a4d703f480c87f58687705e2f56e338
tree5fc78f1457e8e77cec9911df8f703e2be2d5ca09
parent9246e4a6f95ab2dd0dbd97c5d59c985576fca121
Simplification: do razoring only for depth 1

The razoring heuristic is quite a drastic pruning technique,
using a depth 0 search at internal nodes of the search tree
to estimate the true value of depth n nodes. This patch limits
this razoring to the case of internal nodes of depth 1.
Author: Jarrod Torriero (DU-jdto)

STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 8043 W: 1865 L: 1716 D: 4462
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a90a9290ebc590297cc86c1

LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 32890 W: 5577 L: 5476 D: 21837
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a90c8510ebc590297cc86d5

Opportunities opened by this patch: it would be interesting to
know if it brings Elo to re-introduce razoring or soft razoring
at depth >= 2, maybe using a larger margin to compensate for the
increased pruning effect.

Bench: 5227124
src/search.cpp