Do move legality check before pruning.
authorStefan Geschwentner <stgeschwentner@gmail.com>
Wed, 5 Aug 2020 07:29:27 +0000 (09:29 +0200)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Fri, 7 Aug 2020 07:05:20 +0000 (09:05 +0200)
commit615d98da2447e79ceceae205e0cd4e878115acc3
treeda8417a9be29db4a5241aac7cf8321d2426a261d
parent7f336dd59b3b1365943d73ee706a9610e18108bb
Do move legality check before pruning.

This alllows to simplify the code because the move counter haven't to be
decremented later if a move isn't legal. As a side effect now illegal
pruned moves doesn't included anymore in move counter. So slightly less
pruning and reductions are done.

STC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {-1.50,0.50}
Total: 111016 W: 21106 L: 21077 D: 68833
Ptnml(0-2): 1830, 13083, 25736, 12946, 1913
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f28816fa5abc164f05e4c26

LTC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {-1.50,0.50}
Total: 39264 W: 4909 L: 4843 D: 29512
Ptnml(0-2): 263, 3601, 11854, 3635, 279
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f297902a5abc164f05e4c8e

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2906

Bench: 4390086
src/search.cpp