Use threads to clear the TT faster.
authorRodrigo Exterckötter Tjäder <rodrigo@tjader.xyz>
Mon, 14 May 2018 17:52:21 +0000 (14:52 -0300)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Wed, 30 May 2018 11:07:18 +0000 (13:07 +0200)
commit626d43a329adca379421db5d378e33df0868584b
tree791e3fc36f501a92580ddf0db0bbd482109ec224
parent3d6995eae8039b2bf4141cbc02d87d5a6c2a1905
Use threads to clear the TT faster.

Stockfish currently takes a while to clear the TT when using larger hash sizes.

On one machine with 128 GB hash it takes about 50 seconds with a single thread,
allowing it to use all allocated cores brought that time down to 4 seconds on
some Linux systems. The patch was further tested on Windows and refined with
NUMA binding of the hash initializing threads (we refer to pull request #1601
for the complete discussion and the speed measurements).

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1601

No functional change
src/tt.cpp