Revert setting a flag when TT value equals static evaluation
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Tue, 31 Mar 2009 12:57:44 +0000 (14:57 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Tue, 31 Mar 2009 19:41:06 +0000 (20:41 +0100)
commit659c54582ddb1bbbf80f7022a80c027ab0bd4c42
treec27c2ca1a778139fad679479773d9921842d64dd
parent2c0cd95ecf0c20b58da89022e293a0ea0476d666
Revert setting a flag when TT value equals static evaluation
Strangely enough it seems that optimization doesn't work.

After 760 games at 1+0: +155 -184 =421 -13 ELO

Probably the overhead, although small, for setting the flag
is not compensated by the saved evaluation call.

This could be due to the fact that after a TT value is stored,
if and when we hit the position again the stored TT value is
actually used as a cut-off so that we don't need to go on
with another search and evaluation is avoided in any case.

No functional change.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp
src/tt.cpp
src/tt.h