Use evaluation trend to adjust futility margin
authorJerry Donald Watson <j1.donald1@gmail.com>
Wed, 7 Mar 2018 21:31:51 +0000 (22:31 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Wed, 7 Mar 2018 21:34:49 +0000 (22:34 +0100)
commit65c3bb8586eba11277f8297ef0f55c121772d82c
tree7a07c29e265d08c1c033ff10f7edcc4267dacede
parent6d8f583af26daa1c158324d5c13cf01b17c746a5
Use evaluation trend to adjust futility margin

Adjust futility margin in the child node based on whether the
static evaluation is improving.

STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 15271 W: 3157 L: 2958 D: 9156
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a9f2f8c0ebc590297cb6216

LTC:
LLR: 2.97 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 6617 W: 1053 L: 908 D: 4656
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a9f98390ebc590297cb6241

Ideas for future work:

- Tune the new margins.
- Try to get this idea to work for futility pruning in parent
  nodes as well.

Bench: 5779242
src/search.cpp