Return static eval when reaching MAX_PLY
authorJoerg Oster <osterj165@googlemail.com>
Thu, 13 Feb 2014 22:44:12 +0000 (23:44 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 15 Feb 2014 07:20:33 +0000 (08:20 +0100)
commit67f88f5e3e4ee6e4b49151173c2898253178506f
treed548d4603bc521ea6b56cf8e0021e36b18785013
parentb3470d7ab1d8cfe0bacffc42fc9b30347940b5f4
Return static eval when reaching MAX_PLY

Makes more sense than returning a draw score. Tested
with reduced MAX_PLY = 30 and passed both short TC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-1.50,4.50]
Total: 17434 W: 3345 L: 3194 D: 10895

And long TC
LLR: 2.97 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,6.00]
Total: 2610 W: 488 L: 373 D: 1749

With current limit of MAX_PLY = 100 the patch should not
introduce any measurable change, nevertheless is the correct
approach.

Idea of returning eval is from  Michel Van den Bergh.

bench: 8430785
src/search.cpp