Optimal tune for 8 cores
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 8 Jan 2010 11:51:11 +0000 (12:51 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 8 Jan 2010 11:58:51 +0000 (12:58 +0100)
commit6a6facc058e5f08ccd07815a6e619eb0d2451000
treebf3e61b23347ca59da0f5fe48daed0e731e4f821
parent5b21c10afba744f2a984fbe4546701e7ffeee241
Optimal tune for 8 cores

After deep tests Louis Zulli found on his OCTAL machine that
best setup for an 8 core CPU is as following

"Threads" = 8
"Minimum Split Depth" = 6 or 7 (mSD)
"Maximum Number of Threads per Split Point" = not important (MNTpSP)

Here are testing results:

mSD7 (8 threads) vs mSD4 (8 threads): 291 - 120 - 589
mSD6 vs mSD7: 168 - 188 - 644
mSD6-MNTpSP5 vs mSD6-MNTpSP6: 172 - 172 - 656
SF-7threads vs SF-8threads: 179 - 204 - 617

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/ucioption.cpp