Fix syzygy DTZ bug
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 29 May 2016 08:10:39 +0000 (10:10 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Tue, 7 Jun 2016 13:06:26 +0000 (15:06 +0200)
commit6e2ca97d93812b2f630f8b4ec1042105557abaec
tree2a89abead2f5343c60959dde29e32279592f3fc8
parent5f096e9bef7dd2fa5506066f38a477944aa715cc
Fix syzygy DTZ bug

In this position: 3K4/8/3k4/8/4p3/4B3/5P2/8 w - - 0 5

Current DTZ probe returns 1 instead of 15

What happens is that the double push f4 is erroneously detected as a win move.

After the push we have:

[D]3K4/8/3k4/8/4pP2/4B3/8/8 b - f3 0 5

And here the code misses the possible ep capture exf3.

The bug is in probe_dtz_no_ep() where is used probe_ab() that is
blind to ep captures so it returns v == 2 (win) for position

3K4/8/3k4/8/4pP2/4B3/8/8 b - f3 0 5

Note that at the caller site the original position did not have any
possible ep capture, so probe_dtz() returns immediately after calling
probe_dtz_no_ep().

The fix is to call the ep-aware probe_wdl() instead of probe_ab()

I have verified that DTZ is correct now and also there are no more
mistmatches compared to the new 'syzygy' branch. Tested on a set of
more than 600 endgame positions, included some tricky ones.

For people interested to redo the test or doing additional tests
please pull branch tb_dbg from https://github.com/mcostalba/Stockfish repo.

bench: 8450534 (bench unaffected because syzygy is not exercized during bench)
src/syzygy/tbprobe.cpp