Adjust pawn span
authorAlain SAVARD <support@multicim.com>
Sun, 6 Oct 2019 22:48:19 +0000 (00:48 +0200)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sun, 6 Oct 2019 22:50:54 +0000 (00:50 +0200)
commit7264540107b7f20d16628ac8615070fe3334f5f5
treef1382322dbb17f1cd7f6021db5fcc0573638c78a
parentc78f8ddd868966b43b20ae4ef585b6cf1f7ab595
Adjust pawn span

Run as a simplification

a) insures that pawn attacks are always included in the pawn span
  (this "fixes" the case where some outpost or reachable outpost
  bonus were awarded on squares controlled by enemy pawns).

b) compute the full span only if not "backward" or not "blocked".

By looking at "blocked" instead of "opposed", we get a nice simpli-
fication and the "new" outpost detection is almost identical, except
a few borderline cases on rank 4.

passed STC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5d9950730ebc5902b6cefb90
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 79113 W: 17168 L: 17159 D: 44786

passed LTC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5d99d14e0ebc5902b6cf0692
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 41286 W: 6819 L: 6731 D: 27736

See https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2348

bench: 3812891
src/pawns.cpp