Passed pawns evaluation tweak
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 25 May 2009 14:48:47 +0000 (15:48 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 29 May 2009 06:30:58 +0000 (08:30 +0200)
commit738bf66a2d04d27ce8c5481fef52dc3adc3cafe1
tree086a9f04ac2362c646d2705a079eeb36cb656c62
parent3d0b60b0653852198011306a4c8d34f8ef98fc5e
Passed pawns evaluation tweak

Do not penalize if in our adavncing pawn's path there are
non-pawns enemy pieces. Especially if they can be attacked
by us.

Patch is mine, but original idea and also fixing of a first, wrong,
version of the patch is from Eelco de Groot.

Tests with Joona framework seems to confirm patch is good

Results for patch 'disabled'   based on 5776 games: Win percentage:
41.309  (+- 0.526)  [+- 1.053]
Results for patch 'enabled'  based on 6400 games: Win percentage:
42.422  (+- 0.500)  [+- 1.000]

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/evaluate.cpp