Minimal thinking time, even if only one rootMove.
authorMoez Jellouli <37274752+MJZ1977@users.noreply.github.com>
Sun, 31 May 2020 14:51:38 +0000 (16:51 +0200)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sat, 6 Jun 2020 13:58:50 +0000 (15:58 +0200)
commit784263596ff9b01187341274b6f3cbd8971a2d2c
tree8007ab5bd88cfbab7f32b48340d6fee0f17bef30
parent16566a8fcf76b9b72b6e746f318f77045df90017
Minimal thinking time, even if only one rootMove.

without search, the eval returned can be misleading (e.g. mate instead of draw),
leading to wrong adjudication. With a minimal search, this is avoided.
This patch leads to 1ms long searches if there is only 1 move,
similar patches all indicate a small Elo gain.

Fixes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/issues/2707

Passed non-regression STC:
LLR: 2.93 (-2.94,2.94) {-1.50,0.50}
Total: 22312 W: 4350 L: 4204 D: 13758
Ptnml(0-2): 323, 2488, 5437, 2536, 372
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ed562b0f29b40b0fc95a7d0

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2709

Bench: 4733799
src/search.cpp