Count passed pawns in asymmetry measure
authorStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sun, 25 Feb 2018 23:55:01 +0000 (00:55 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Mon, 26 Feb 2018 00:06:45 +0000 (01:06 +0100)
commit7a03450bd9a0e2b3d596bb0654add4402041957a
tree31a5cee1d4c229aca849060275e55394dd17f7c4
parentebb3e7df65b48b8c66c9853983865aefa02e6b59
Count passed pawns in asymmetry measure

The previous asymmetry measure of the pawn structure only used to
consider the number of pawns on semi-opened files in the position.
With this patch we also increase the measure by the number of passed
pawns for both players.

Many thanks to the community for the nice feedback on the previous
version, with special mentions to Alain Savard and Marco Costalba
for clarity and speed suggestions.

STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 13146 W: 3038 L: 2840 D: 7268
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a91dd0c0ebc590297cc877e

LTC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 27776 W: 4771 L: 4536 D: 18469
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a91fdd50ebc590297cc879b

How to continue after this patch?

Stockfish will now evaluate more positions with passed pawns, so
tuning the passed pawns values may bring Elo. The patch has also
consequences on the initiative term, where we might want to give
different weights to passed pawns and semi-openfiles (idea by
Stefano Cardanobile).

Bench: 5302866
src/pawns.cpp