Tweak check extension condition
authorVoyagerOne <excelgeek@gmail.com>
Mon, 6 Jun 2016 13:39:26 +0000 (09:39 -0400)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 10 Jun 2016 05:15:56 +0000 (07:15 +0200)
commit7c5d724724e826ff1fd9a97c8812d5a4bffaaa84
tree502aaf6ed3ae4541f60f827c6101c303436b5be7
parent6fed8ff22ab618c89de2bb69bbc379816692baf4
Tweak check extension condition

There are two concepts with this patch:

Limit check extensions by using move count.
The idea is to limit search explosion.

Always extend check if the first move gives check.
The idea is to save expensive SEE calls, since the vast
majority of first move will have SEE value >= 0, also
first move may still be strong even if the SEE is negative.

STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 16503 W: 3068 L: 2873 D: 10562

LTC:
LLR: 2.97 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 37202 W: 5261 L: 5014 D: 26927

bench: 8543366
src/search.cpp