Make using quiescence search implicit
authorJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Thu, 15 Mar 2018 08:21:34 +0000 (09:21 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Thu, 15 Mar 2018 08:25:59 +0000 (09:25 +0100)
commit8ab12c901258064f1a9bc531477e1b706bc974fb
tree07dc72528c214d456ec3906656816621bc7d5fa4
parent8db75dd9ec05410136898aa2f8c6dc720b755eb8
Make using quiescence search implicit

If search depth is less than ONE_PLY call qsearch(), no need to check the
depth condition at various call sites of search().

Passed STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 14568 W: 3011 L: 2877 D: 8680
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5aa846190ebc59029781015b

Also helps gcc to find some optimizations (smaller binary, some speedup).
Thanks to Aram and Stefan for identifying an oversight in an early version.

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1487

No functional change.
src/search.cpp