Reduce VALUE_KNOWN_WIN to 10000
authorUri Blass <uriblass@gmail.com>
Mon, 27 Jan 2014 19:08:31 +0000 (20:08 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 27 Jan 2014 19:09:51 +0000 (20:09 +0100)
commit93f95cc936690a1b2637670bb22d138295eb5214
treedd4932369ab17cd10ca3053ff066bcd949c5dd1d
parentf434cea287d3fae6b719816df0aa89a3d8579fa9
Reduce VALUE_KNOWN_WIN to 10000

With some positions like

8/8/8/2p2K2/1pp5/br1p1b2/2p2r2/qqkqq3 w - -

The eval score is higher than VALUE_INFINITE because
is the sum of VALUE_KNOWN_WIN plus a big material
advantage. This leads to an assert. Here are the
steps to reproduce:

Compile SF with debug=yes then do

./stockfish
position fen 8/8/8/2p2K2/1pp5/br1p1b2/2p2r2/qqkqq3 w - -
go depth 1

This patch fixes the issue in this case, but do exsist
other positions for which the patch is not enough and
we will need to limit the eval score to be sure not
overflow the limit.

Note that is not possible to increase the value of
VALUE_INFINITE because should remain within int16_t
type to be stored in a TT entry.

bench: 7356053
src/types.h