Sequencing tweak in tbprobe()
authorAlain SAVARD <support@multicim.com>
Sun, 27 Oct 2019 20:16:26 +0000 (16:16 -0400)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Tue, 12 Nov 2019 00:18:54 +0000 (01:18 +0100)
commit9b8b259388f15d9f669cfc526a2bb7c5a5b1ee71
treef2e879db18ed1722e28b20d108624645420d0f93
parent5ae195ee7e3ccac01b8145f9b7022e352a288f07
Sequencing tweak in tbprobe()

Followup of "issue" #2372, which was in fact a small speed-up
proposal by user @d3vv for the probing code of tablebases.

See comments on this issue where it was proven by Alin Savard that the
proposed change is more efficient on average than master on all type of
sequences it will usually be called.

Note that on gcc 4.3, this will produce a bogus warning which was solved
with ulterior gcc versions: https://gcc.gnu.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=43949

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/issues/2372
Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2379

Non functional change
src/syzygy/tbprobe.cpp