Use zero null move margin when depth < 4 * OnePly
authorJoona Kiiski <joona.kiiski@gmail.com>
Fri, 12 Feb 2010 14:40:00 +0000 (16:40 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 15 Feb 2010 18:14:41 +0000 (19:14 +0100)
commita093f33154cdd7b1d82e41f67fc673d3a22545bc
tree96ffc9c9f9bdf993fdb15912e39fea681963a7c1
parent0895f1ac71f64ed39effd3907271c4b0c168b550
Use zero null move margin when depth < 4 * OnePly

This is because when we are below 4 * OnePly, the null move
will directly jump to qsearch and if we are below beta,
our opponent is above beta and will get immediate
stand pat cut off.

So basically this patch is just optimizing away useless
evaluation calls. dbg_hit_on() runs show that this heuristic
is correct >99% of cases. Transposition table probably causes
some inaccurary?

After 1148 games on QUAD
mod-orig: 583 - 565 +5 elo

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp