Rank-based outposts
authorSFisGOD <jonathandumale@gmail.com>
Tue, 12 Nov 2019 01:22:09 +0000 (09:22 +0800)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Wed, 13 Nov 2019 10:01:00 +0000 (11:01 +0100)
commita1319751700272055e0cf5649292ea4bbaabd6ca
tree235ca2d0c4637145e17fda773042926a9db20fc4
parent9ab2590963b029092a378c7a69d1c80c43999db8
Rank-based outposts

Introduce OutpostRank[RANK_NB] which contains a bonus according to
the rank of the outpost. We use it for the primary Outpost bonus.
The values are based on the trends of the SPSA tuning run with some
manual tweaks.

Passed STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-1.50,4.50]
Total: 27454 W: 6059 L: 5869 D: 15526
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5dcadba20ebc590256922f09

Passed LTC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,3.50]
Total: 57950 W: 9443 L: 9112 D: 39395
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5dcaea880ebc5902569230bc

Bench: 4778405

----------------------------

The inspiration for this patch came from Stefan Geschwentner's attempt
of modifying BishopPawns into a rank-based penalty. Michael Stembera
suggested that maybe the S(0, 0) ranks (3rd, 7th and also maybe 8th)
can still be tuned. This would expand our definition of Outpost and
OutpostRanks would be removed altogether. Special thanks to Mark Tenzer
for all the help and excellent suggestions.
src/evaluate.cpp