Simplify passed pawns logic
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 12 Nov 2011 08:03:18 +0000 (09:03 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 12 Nov 2011 08:09:41 +0000 (09:09 +0100)
commita40ded2884b512a84afe9af9ff5782f6634d316f
treea8943060e45e0e5dfead4f63a160f34c570b3ebd
parent44c78fdb7ad4c82656f25e4da11f3f9d56a4c6aa
Simplify passed pawns logic

Remove the bonus for no *friendly* pieces in the pawn's path and
reduce a bit the bonus based on kings proximity.

This patch is part of to the ongoing effort to remove form evaluation
all the terms that do not add value.

After 16284 games:

Mod vs Orig 2728 - 2651 - 10911 ELO +1 (+- 3.1)

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/evaluate.cpp