Fix output of PV lines with invalid scores #2439
authorjoergoster <osterj165@googlemail.com>
Fri, 6 Dec 2019 09:11:45 +0000 (10:11 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sun, 8 Dec 2019 23:16:55 +0000 (00:16 +0100)
commita6b5ba1b6404ce8aec8a2be8b7354dcb89cfda3f
treeafa77f6d9a9f3642aa83e9a25427bfd3a23c7b02
parent20484ccdd5876deee4138d8badea4ef44b73341f
Fix output of PV lines with invalid scores #2439

As reported on the forum it is possible, on very rare occasions, that we are
trying to print a PV line with an invalid previousScore, although this line
has a valid actual score. This patch fixes output of PV lines with invalid
scores in a MultiPV search. This is a follow-up patch to 8b15961 and makes
the fix finally complete.

The reason is the i <= pvIdx condition which probably is a leftover from the
times there was a special root search function. This check is no longer needed
today and prevents PV lines past the current one (current pvIdx) to be flagged
as updated even though they do have a valid score.

https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/commit/8b15961349e18a9ba113973c53f53913d0cd0fad
https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgroups=#!topic/fishcooking/PrnoDLvMvro

No functional change.
src/search.cpp