Do not exit early even when seeing mate
authorJoona Kiiski <joona.kiiski@gmail.com>
Sat, 23 Jul 2011 21:18:28 +0000 (22:18 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 24 Jul 2011 05:13:29 +0000 (06:13 +0100)
commita6fc3d6ee501911375b29ebdb09638eb6789d091
tree7321f10441259bb636c7eaa9971f70acd2a8b43d
parenta1f9bf19d9aa542fd5109a4ce997eac8122568d4
Do not exit early even when seeing mate

Fixes the reported KNNK ending problem:

http://talkchess.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=39347

Joona says:

Now I finally had a time to take a look at on this issue.

I've reproduced the problem starting from this position:
1B6/1B2k3/P7/1P3p2/1K6/8/4b3/4b3 w - - 6 85

I made Stockfish play as white and Fruit as black.
I repeated test ten times and once SF was not able to deliver mate.

But I observed several times that SF had reported on last something like mate in 10.
However next time it played move with score mate in 15.

Easiest way to solve the problem is attached as a patch. I tested it several times and SF always
ended up playing the optimal move. Of course the downside is that now delivering mate
takes a bit longer, but IMO it's better to lose once in a while by time in sudden death
game than not being able to deliver simple mate with long time controls.

No functional change.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp