Remove pawn count in space() calculation #2139
authorxoto10 <buylow001@gmail.com>
Sun, 5 May 2019 13:22:40 +0000 (14:22 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 15 May 2019 08:18:49 +0000 (10:18 +0200)
commita8abba0b4d127f608e8e8dde4583d6389b3c2339
treeb65c9f4281e4158dbfaf430a8aae9b00f7ae7743
parent5f4d44fda053335ab20cb67c99323b8c182bf824
Remove pawn count in space() calculation #2139

Simplification. Various attempts to optimise the pawn
count bonus showed little effect, so remove pawn count
altogether and compensate by subtracting 1 instead of 4.

STC 10+0.1 th 1:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 152244 W: 33709 L: 33847 D: 84688
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5cceed330ebc5925cf04170e

LTC 60+0.6 th 1:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 24100 W: 4079 L: 3964 D: 16057
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5cd5b6b80ebc5925cf04e889

Bench: 3648841
src/evaluate.cpp