Simplify code for pinaware SEE
authorGuenther Demetz <guenther.demetz@wuerth-phoenix.com>
Mon, 12 Sep 2016 12:30:52 +0000 (14:30 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 12 Sep 2016 13:45:00 +0000 (15:45 +0200)
commitace8e951d70c2986a0af83effcc0d2b2312d29e3
treecda2168dfa37f1423c2a5d57f6c3176dd27dc20c
parent90ce24b11ea080f923e1b5d37470e2ca98f4d98b
Simplify code for pinaware SEE

This is the most compact and neatest version
is was able to produce.

On normal builds I have a small slowdown:
normal builds base vs. simplification (gcc 4.8.1 Win7-64 i7-3770 @ 3.4GHz x86-64-modern)
Results for 20 tests for each version:

        Base      Test      Diff
Mean    1974744   1969333   5411
StDev   11825     10281     5874
p-value: 0,178
speedup: -0,003

On pgo-builds however I measure a nice 1.1% speedup

pgo-builds base vs. simplification
Results for 20 tests for each version:

        Base      Test      Diff
Mean    1974119   1995444   -21325
StDev   8703      5717      4623
p-value: 1
speedup: 0,011

No functional change.
src/position.cpp