Extend stack to ss-5, and remove conditions
authorJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Wed, 19 Dec 2018 20:04:36 +0000 (21:04 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Mon, 24 Dec 2018 10:06:47 +0000 (11:06 +0100)
commitade87ff8d3603c014370d5d6b46ef0b5a5fc157d
tree84c1f2865f5b647346f5ef6a775ee4726d87ffb5
parent96ac85b3196ed7369a91a0852da0adcaf05a04b3
Extend stack to ss-5, and remove conditions

The `&& (ss-1)->killers[0] ` conditions are there seemingly to protect
accessing ss-5.

This is unneeded and not so intuitive (as the killer is checked for equality
with currentMove, and that one is non-zero once we're high enough in the stack,
this protects access to ss-5). We can just extend the stack from ss-4 to ss-5,
so we can call update_continuation_histories(ss-1, ..) always in search.

This goes a bit further than #1881 and addresses a comment in #1878.

passed STC:
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5c1aa8d50ebc5902ba127ad0
LLR: 3.12 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 53515 W: 11734 L: 11666 D: 30115

passed LTC:
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5c1b272c0ebc5902ba12858d
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 140176 W: 23123 L: 23192 D: 93861

Bench: 3451321
src/search.cpp